Bodies, Temples, Gifts, and Homes

Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.

~William Morris~

“Do you not know that your body is ¬†temple of the Holy Spirit…”

1 Corinthians 6:19a

This quote and this Bible verse speak to me. I love decorating my physical home with fun, eclectic pieces that speak to me. I have a bright green couch in my family room for Heaven’s sake! Making my home comfortable, fun, and inviting is something I enjoy. So, we might talk about that kind of stuff.

Even more so though is the connection I made between the verse and quote. Our body; this is the temple, the home, ¬†of the Holy Spirit. So we ought to only have useful and beautiful things in our body, mind, and spirit as well. Beautiful to those around us, not visually, but in the way we act and carry ourselves. Useful in the way we use our God given gifts to further His kingdom. Even if those gifts include a complete knowledge of the Pokedex or the ability to make someone laugh when they don’t feel like laughing.

Mothering, wife-ing, nursing, and everything in between is part of this beautiful and useful life and are the roles and gifts God has given me. Let’s share life.

Leave a Reply

