Acquiring Hearts

I guess you could say I acquired my first heart on June 15, 2002. That’s the day I got married and added the first of many amazing souls under my umbrella of care. Nine months later another heart came in the form of a eight pound, eleven ounce baby boy. Five more kids, 2 cats, 2 corgis, and 2 pugs later I guess you could say the rest is history!

The need to care for others is something I feel deep in my soul, it just feels like who I am and what I am supposed to do: that connection with another being. I know that’s the reason I was drawn to nursing as well and why I so much prefer school nursing over floor nursing. That connection with others and making others feel safe and taken care of is what keeps me going.

Totally and fully aware that this is not the life for everyone. We get our fair share of looks and whispers and snickers when a pregnancy beyond the second one was announced or yet another pet was brought into the home. It used to bother me….a lot. But I am much more at peace with this being my path now.

I guess what I’m trying to get at is that you should just steer into the skid of whatever spiritual gift you’ve been given. Even if it seems crazy, even if other people don’t ‘get it’, even if it’s just between you and God.  The passions you have and the things you care about are not random. Embrace them. Ok, now I’m off to figure out dinner plans for these 14 lovies…

Leave a Reply

