Holy Week: Maundy Thursday

Picture in your mind a person you consider a friend and mentor. Someone you look up to. Someone you desire to be like. Someone you respect and love. Now imagine they sit you down and begin to wash your feet. How would you feel? Awkward? Uncomfortable? Not worthy? Then they tell you to go and do likewise and you share a meal together.

Up until a few years ago, I had honestly never heard this word in my life.  The church I grew up in celebrated Easter, a little bit of Good Friday, and that’s about it.  I knew the story of the foot washing and of the Last Supper, I just never knew it had it’s own name. As I’ve studied it more, I feel like that Thursday evening during Holy Week is one that pretty well sums up our job as followers of Christ.

Jesus tells us to go and do likewise. We should not ever think we are above anyone or better than anyone. Jesus got right down at the feet of His people and we need to get right down to taking care of His people as well and not looking down on them.

This part of scripture also has one of my favorite and most relatable verses in it:

Jesus replied, “You do not realize now what I am doing, but later you will understand.” John 13:7

Isn’t that still so like us today? We want all the answers, we want to understand, we want to know what comes next and Jesus says “Don’t worry, I’ve got this!” I try to remember that on days when I’m struggling or questioning things: Jesus has us, He knows what comes next. And what came next for His disciples after that Maundy Thursday was beyond what they could have ever imagined.

Leave a Reply

