Band-Aid Station Ministry

I got more than a few scoffs and snickers when I announced I was leaving floor nursing to be a school nurse. Is that even real nursing? Won’t you just be running a glorified band-aid station? How can you go from the excitement of a step down unit to the boring, monotony of a school clinic?

Every day when I walk into my clinic I never know what my over 400 students and 60 some staff who are under my care will bring my way.  Some days are slow, some days I see 70+ kids, some days I end up at the hospital ER with staff or students. I have students with complex medical diagnoses and students who just need some extra TLC. Someone once told me being a school nurse is 50% being a nurse and 50% being a mom. I would agree with that.

A  ministry is defined as the service or functions of a minister. A minister is a person acting under the agency of or an instrument of someone else, in this case, God. So, yeah, I definitely feel like what I do is a ministry. I feel a calling from God to be a nurse and to serve in this school. This is where I belong and it was a journey of faith that got me here. I get to touch lives every day and show God’s love without ever quoting a scripture. Where you are called to is your ministry, it need not only be from behind a pulpit.

‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Matthew 25:38-40

Leave a Reply

