Faith and Science

“Every part of Scripture is God-breathed and useful one way or another—showing us truth, exposing our rebellion, correcting our mistakes, training us to live God’s way.” 1 Timothy 3:16 (MSG)

You know what this verse does NOT say? That the Bible is intended to be a science textbook or a history book. The Bible is intended to show us God’s nature and teach us how to be closer to Him. The point of Genesis is not to give a Power Point lecture on the literal origins of the world, it’s a guide to our human nature and our relation to God. Do I believe that God spoke and then there was light? Yes. Do I also believe that this may have occurred over millions of years and started off with The Big Bang? Yes. Why can’t it be both? One doesn’t negate the other.

I love God and I believe that He uniquely made me for a purpose and had plans for my life long before I was born. I also believe that He gave humans the amazing ability to adapt and evolve and change over time. Our circulatory and respiratory systems are amazingly complex and, in my eyes, designed by an intelligent creator. I also believe that intelligent creator (God) gave doctor’s the knowledge to repair this amazing body and use things like stem cells to improve health and longevity. They don’t have to be exclusive of each other.

This is not a new or crazy way of thinking amongst progressive Christians but I still personally run into the stereotyping that since I’m a Christian I must be a Young Earthist or think evolution is a bunch of hokum. Nope, exactly the opposite actually. The more I study God and His word, the more I love science and the discovery of His vast creation. The more I learn about science the more I believe in God and his intelligent design for our universe from the smallest atom to the largest galaxy. It’s awesome, in the truest sense of the word.

If I get to the end of my life and find that I was wrong, so be it. I’d rather have lived my life in awe of this beautiful universe and loving every part of creation than condemning others for what they believe and missing the entire point of this journey of faith. Much love to all of you.

Leave a Reply

