I’ll Pray for Ya!

In a social media fueled world, we seem to know everything about everyone the moment it happens. Sickness, family problems, school issues, deaths, big tests, moving across the country, etc. etc. Look through the comments on any given post and you will see no less a dozen folks comment “Prayers!” or “Praying for you!”. Is it just lip service? A way of letting people know you are sympathetic to their situation? Well, that’s between you an God and that’s not really what I’m here to discuss. Seems like it is almost an empty statement anymore, it’s just what you are supposed to say.

A couple years ago my New Year’s resolution was to actually pray for the people I said I would. Crazy idea, huh? I’ll admit I was guilty of posting that I was praying for someone or a certain situation and never even giving it a second thought let alone taking their needs to the Big Guy Upstairs. I started to feel bad about that. So I started keeping a journal. If I say I’m praying for you, you can trust that your name is in my notebook and I have sincerely prayed for your situation. I believe in the power of prayer, I also believe in jumping into action should something need to be done that I can do. I’m not going to stand there while you are drowning, write you in my book, and say I’m praying. No, I’m going to help you….and pray.

Knowing I’m being prayed for gives me a lot of comfort. It makes me feel like I’m not alone. It makes me feel like someone cares. I know of several people who sincerely pray for me and my health and it honestly means the world to me. I’m sure there are others who say they pray for me and never do, and that’s ok too. Prayer is a cool thing: it benefits the pray-er and the pray-ee.  The power of lifting someone up to God and the comfort of knowing you are being lifted up to God. Just know if you ever need prayer, I’d sincerely be glad to do that for you.

 

Leave a Reply

