Fourteen

My oldest son turns 14 today. How on Earth is that even possible? I mean, yes, I know how time and age progression works but how did it go so fast? When you have a baby people always tell you that it is going to go by fast but you don’t really fully understand that until you are living it. If I close my eyes I can still vividly remember them putting him in my arms after he was born and just being in awe. That feels like it happened 2 seconds ago. Seriously. I blinked and we went from diapers and blankies to high school and hormones. It’s a joy to watch him grow up and experience new things, really it is. It’s like getting to experience life a second time though his eyes. It is bittersweet in the truest sense of the word.

The other weird thing is to think that I have been a mom for 14 years now. I figured at this point I’d probably have this whole parenting gig figured out. Not the case at all, friends! Each new stage of life brings a whole new set of “I don’t have any idea what I’m doing” moments as a mom. The troubles of sleeping through the night or potty training have been replaced with hurt feelings and trying to fit in. His problems used to be so easy to fix (in hind sight) and now I just have to sit on the sidelines, guide him, and pray. Being a mom is harder than ever the older he gets, but more rewarding as well as he makes decisions and finds his way as a young man.

So for you mommas sitting there holding your 4 month old or 4 year old, trust me when I say that it DOES go fast. Embrace each stage and enjoy it as much as you can. But also recognizing that it’s hard and that’s ok and that you won’t ever really feel like you know what you are doing but that’s ok too. You love them and they love you and that can get you through a lot.

Leave a Reply

