6.5, But Who Is Counting?

6 1/2.  Six and one half. We have 6.5 days until school is out for the summer. Not that I’m counting down or anything. If you have ever questioned why school staff and teachers get the summer off then you have never worked in a school. It is physically, mentally,emotionally, and spiritually draining to be on and 100% for all these kiddos every single day. And we give and we give and we give more than 100% of ourselves every single day. We do it because we love it though and we love these kids. It really does become like a little family amongst the staff and students. We spend so much time together through the highest highs and the lowest lows. It’s a privilege to get to be in these kid’s lives and to care for them as their nurse.

Don’t get me wrong, I will miss these kids immensely over the summer. I will worry and fret about them and wonder what they are up to and pray that they are safe.  But I need the time off to recharge my batteries, step away from it all for a while, and come back ready to roll in August. And believe me, come August, I’ll be ready!

Leave a Reply

