Closing Time

“Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.”

Closing Time, Semisonic

I know it’s just a cheesy line from a 90s pop song but it has always just really struck me how poignant it is. It always ‘hits me right in the feels’ as they say. How true as we march through the milestones of life that we are continually ending something that once began to start something new.

It’s a season of big change here in our house. It feels like a major turning point in our family life. The ‘baby’ is having his last day of preschool today. Hope he doesn’t read this blog because he will adamantly tell you that he is NOT a baby, thank you very much! For the past 14 years there has been at least one kiddo who was at home: a baby, a toddler, a preschooler. Now that is all going to change. All of them are school age. Woah. How did that happen? It seemed like we would always have a little one at home.

Add to that the twins starting middle school. Such a time of growing up and finding who you are. I met some of my longest and truest friends in middle school. I’m excited for them to get to experience all of that and find what it is they love and care about. They have matured so much recently and, although I still see those tiny little blonde haired boys when I look at them, I know they are becoming young men before my eyes.

Also the boy who made me a momma is going to high school this year. High School. I met my husband, their dad, my freshman year of high school. It’s hard to think of him as being that old. He has drum line try outs this week. I vividly remember my freshman year drum line try outs and how nervous I was and, in a flash, now my own son is there. These next four years are going to be some of the most memorable (good or bad) of his life.

Life is weird. The passage of time is inevitable and nothing new to anyone but it is SO different when you are the one experiencing all the passage of time. Lots of people have kids starting school and hitting milestones this year. I see them and hear about them and think “yup”. But when it is my own family, who I have poured my life into, it is just so strange to see the hours/minutes/days slipping through your fingers. So here is to endings and new beginnings.

Leave a Reply

