The Great Cross-Section of Humanity

There is a place that does not discriminate. Nearly all will walk through their doors at one point or another in their lives. Young/old, rich/poor, black/white and everything in between! Society, as a whole, comes together here and intermingles. Where is this glorious place I speak of? Why none other than the DMV!

dmv.jpg

It was the last day of the month and I needed to renew the tags on my car. I knew it was going to be crazy and I had kind of sort of mentally prepared myself for it. I try to consciously be a positive person because if I’m not conscious about it, I tend towards negativity very quickly.  I grabbed my number, 169, and noticed they were on 154. Ok, gonna be here a while! There was barely a seat in the place, but I found one.

As I looked around I saw people from every walk of life and I kind of just took it all in. Sometimes I get this overwhelmingly intense love for humanity that is almost painful. Like, look at all of us here right now living this life and doing our thing. It’s quite beautiful really. I think it is a reason I went into nursing: this intense love of humanity. I see beauty and struggle and strength in each face as they fiddle with their papers and look at their phones and try to get their kids to sit down. We are all just here, right here, right now. It’s the most simple and complex thing in the world.

A young mom came in and was struggling with her 4 little ones. She had a toddler on her back in a carrier, a newborn in an infant carrier on a stroller, and 2 what looked to be preschool age kiddos. By the sounds of them, it must have been about nap time. The toddler was crying, the preschoolers didn’t want to listen, at least the newborn was sleeping peacefully! The women next to me sighed heavily when this mom walked by with all here kids and this upset me. It upset me because I have been there and done that! As she finished her business at the counter and made her way back out the door I made the conscious effort to make eye contact with her and to smile. I am betting she does not get that too often. She smiled back and headed out the door.

My time to renew my tags came and went with little incident and before I knew it, I was on the road back home.  As I drove I reflected on how that little connection of humanity meant a lot to ME. I encourage you to seek out situations like this in your own life. Observe, take it all in, love people, and let them know it. Even in someplace as hated as the DMV.

Leave a Reply

